Mozilla

Mozilla is setting up a new security tool to secure user’s accounts and will let users check if their accounts have been hacked by an unknown entity or not. Soon, it will also alert users if their data included in any new security breaches.

Regardless of the improvements in cybersecurity, people are still facing the hacking issues every then and now. In today’s world, we have made ourselves dependent on online services, also with good comes bad and breaching on private accounts sometimes destroy lives. The email hacking of political figures is a good example of how even some of the popular companies are at risk.

“We decided to address a growing need for account security by developing Firefox Monitor, a proposed security tool that is designed for everyone, but offers additional features for Firefox users.” They stated on their website.

There has been a hold of data hacking and cyber crimes from last few years. Disappointingly, people who don’t know technicalities of the web are uninformed if someone hacked their account for wrong use. Mozilla has stated that they are adding Troy Hunt’s well-known “Have I Been Pwned (HIBP)” database into upcoming versions of Firefox. It is the same partnership that Agile-Bits who is the developer of 1Password also have with the website. It means that users are not required to search for it themselves but the browser they will alert the users.

At first, they used the breach API to only notify users if they visited a website that had been hacked, but now the company is adding the complete HIBP service into it called Firefox Monitor. It allows users to enter email ID and show the amount of data that have been exposed. The feature also gives ideas about how to enhance the security of data and accounts.

Also Read: Razor and Microsoft is reportedly working on Xbox Keyboard and Mouse support

One thing that should be cleared for the users is, these notifications won’t secure the account from hackers or stop the data from being used. Though it will let you know that accounts might be used by other people. By this process, users will be able to change the password to secure their accounts. They can also deactivate their accounts for more safety.

 

You may also like

More in Internet

Comments

Comments are closed.