Google officially announced that due to low usage and security issues, the consumer version of Google+ service will be closed on April 2, 2019. It has lived well, more than expected. It was supposed to be the social hub of Google which almost turned into a ghost town, populated only by developers Google and Android.
This is not news that Google will close Google+ earlier than originally planned, as the search giant revealed in December 2018 that it would end its social platform in April 2019 instead of August 2019 because of a privacy problem that couldn’t be solved. The closure for consumers will be complete and irreversible.
Originally, it was formed in June 2011 to compete with Facebook. Unfortunately, Google+ did not form a scale that could compete with Facebook. Due to system vulnerabilities, user privacy was leaked. The number of affected users reached more than 500,000 so Google made this shutdown decision.
According to Google’s official timetable for closing, Google+ will stop users to create new profiles, web pages, communities or events from February, Out-of-site comments via Google+ accounts will also be deleted.
Community owners can download and save data for the community pages from early March. It includes the text, body, and photos of each community post.
Ultimately, all the pages that are formed by users will be closed on 2nd of April. All the accounts will be deleted, including photos, videos and other content uploaded by Google+ users.
”On April 2, your Google+ account and any Google+ pages you’ve created will be closed, and we’ll start removing content from Google+ Consumer Accounts. Google+ photos and videos in your album archives and Google+ pages will also be deleted,” said Google.
It is now only a matter of time, and Google+ service will definitely be closed, at least for consumers. But for G Suite users, the Google+ social platform will stay active. Google says it will get a new look and more features in the upcoming weeks.