Facebook has finally made unsend message feature made possible, Today, the company announced they are going to roll out an unsend feature to let users unsend their message. Facebook named it Remove for everyone which help you pull back typos, poor choices, embarrassing thoughts, or any other message.
The feature works when you tap on the message you want to delete but you have to do it within 10 minutes of sending the message. When you click on the message two options will appear that is Remove for Everyone and Remove for You. By selecting remove for everyone it will replace your message with a text that is ‘the message has been removed by you’. It works in the same way as the delete message feature of WhatsApp.
The unsend message feature could let people Chat more comfortably because if they mistakenly send a text to someone they know it can unsend instantly. Earlier, The company abused its policy by removing Zuckerberg’s Facebook’s messages in a way that email or other communication mediums wouldn’t allow. Later, multiple sources confirmed that the message they had received from Mark Zuckerburg disappeared.
When reached out for a comment from Facebook the company said CEO message has expired over time and pointed out towards the increased security measures after the 2014 Sony Pictures email hacks. If we go back, Facebook never had an unsend feature in April 2018 Facebook CEO message has removed from the inbox of recipients including non-employees also.
There was no trace of the messages in the threads and it looks like the partners were talking to themselves. Although Email receipts proved the messages had been sent but later disappeared. Later Facebook claimed that it was due to ‘limiting the retention period for Mark’s messages’ for security reasons. Anyhow it never explained why the need arises to delete the messages from the chat.
Next day of removing the message Facebook provided a statement: “We have discussed this feature several times . . . We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not.”
Later in October 2018, Facebook announced they had been prototyping the feature and working on the unsend feature. In November, Facebook started to launch out “Remove for everyone” design and the 10-minute limit. Now every iOS and Android Messenger user globally will get the Unsend feature. The company further says that the new ability is based on CEO’s power but it went under “some improvements to provide broader functionality to people using Messenger.”
A few days ago, Apple blocked facebook internal iOS application over privacy concerns. The company has intervened heavily and unprecedented against Facebook, just a few hours from the scandal that has again seen as a protagonist the social network of Zuckerberg, accused of having once again given a price to the privacy of its users, including minors: 20 dollars (in gift card) per month to have full access to all their digital life on the smartphone.
According to some reports, Facebook paid users $20 to install a VPN on their mechanism to observe their usage routine, which permitted the social network to monitor the online usage of participants from 17 to 35 ages.
The effect of this move is much more serious since it not only eternally blocks the famous VPN at the center of the scandal but stops the social network to start its applications in the experimental phase (such as beta of the various services).
Instagram, WhatsApp, and Snapchat have already this feature, No we have to see how this feature turned out on Messenger and how many users liked it.